Politics: See Winners of 2018 Texas Primary Elections

See Winners of 2018 Texas Primary Elections
2018 Texas Primary Elections/ Photo credit: fox26houston.com

The 2018 Texas Primary Elections had just been concluded. In Texas, the rule remains that a candidate must secure at minimum, 50 percent of votes to avoid a runoff election, which is scheduled for May 22, 2019.

As it went:

Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Texas, appeared to easily win the GOP nomination, and as of midnight, Rep. Beto O’Rourke, D-Texas, appeared to have clinched the Democratic nomination with more than 60 percent of the vote.

George P. Bush, the son of former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush, also avoided a runoff election Tuesday night, in his bid to be the GOP nominee for Texas land commissioner. Texas Gov. Greg Abbott easily clinched the GOP nomination, but Democrats appear to be headed for a runoff. As of midnight, Lupe Valdez was leading Andrew White in the Democratic primary, and the two appeared to be headed to another election night in May.

ALSO READ: France Begins War Against Sexual Abuse

In the 7th District, Democrat Lizzie Pannill Fletcher appeared to be headed to a runoff, but her Democratic opponent in May is still unclear. She will face off against Rep. John Culberson, a vulnerable Republican in the Houston area whose district voted for Hillary Clinton in 2016.

In the 32nd District, Rep. Pete Sessions, R-Texas, easily clinched the nomination, but no Democrat appeared to have obtained enough votes to move forward without a runoff election.

In Texas’ 21st District, no candidate appeared likely to win Tuesday night. The top two Democrats and Republican candidates will head to a runoff election. This is the seat currently held by retiring Rep. Lamar Smith, a Republican and chairman of the House Science, Space and Technology Committee.

STAY CONNECTED: Read more news on surge.ng mobile app

Republicans are worried about a seeming surge of energy among Democrats, a surge that was enough to concern Cruz. Cruz is fighting for reelection for the first time since entering the Senate in 2013.

Extracted from Cbsnews.com


Surge It