BSIEC announces Benue state Local Gov’t Chairmanship Election Results


Results of Benue state local government chairmanship election held on Saturday, June 3 has been announced by the Benue State Independent Electoral Commission (BSIEC) yesterday in Makurdi.

 Chairman of the commission, John Tsuwa said: “The figures are not ready. I will not entertain questions because this is not a press conference,” as he refused to disclose details of votes scored by the candidates to reporters.

He listed names of the 8 Political Parties participated in the exercise as follows:  NNPP, APC, PDP, SDP, ACB, PPP, LP and Accord Party.

 Also, BSIEC announced that the All Progressive Congress (APC) had won all the 23 local government chairmanship seats in the state including all the councillorship positions, with some of the candidates returned unopposed.

BSIEC Leader expressed his gratitude towards the security agencies since no case of violence or snatching of ballot box was reported throughout the exercise.

However, responds from the opposition parties are not known as at yesterday.



Surge It