Warri Relays: Blessing Okagbare leads Team Nigeria to victory

As Nwanaga smashes National record in Javelin

Nigeria Athletics
Blessing Okagbare with some members of Team Nigeria

There were smiles everywhere as Team Nigeria powered to victory at the Warri Relays and CAA Grand Prix, led by athletics superstar, Blessing Okagbare.

Okagbare, who was competing in Nigeria for the first since the national championship in Sapele last year, led Nigeria’s relay team to victory in the 4x100m relays held at the Federal Polytechnic Ozoro, in Delta state.

She anchored the women’s team to a convincing win in a time of 43.92secs, while their men counterparts were made to sweat for their win by Botswana.

The Nigeria men’s relay team clocked 40.17secs, edging out Botswana, who posted a time of 40.21secs, in a close contest. Team Nigeria didn’t stop there, as there were more victories to celebrate at the Warri event.

In the women’s 110m hurdles event, Us based Tobiloba Amusan, jumped to victory in a time of 12.97secs, with Grace Ayimoba and Efe favour coming second and third in a time of 13.53secs and 13.63secs respectively.

In the men’s 110m hurdles, Martins Ogieriakhi jumped to a season best time of 13.82secs, with Oyeniyi Abijoye and Abdullahi Bashiru came in second and third.

The men’s 100m event saw Ogho-Oghene Egwero emerge victorious, crossing the finish line in a time of 10.33secs, with Keene Motukisi of Botswana coming second in a time of 10.41secs. Harry Chukuwdike of Nigeria came third, in 10.47secs.

In the women’s category, Isoken Igbinosun finished fastest in a time of 11.49secs, Aniekeme Alphonsus and Ntia Obong Mercy coming second and third in a time of 11.51secs and 11.66secs respectively.

However, it didn’t stop there as Team Nigeria also won at the field events, led by Kelechi Nwanaga, the former Super Falcons player, who broke the national record in Javelin, as per Makingofchamps.com.

Nwanaga smashed Sorochukwu Ihuefo’s 55.30m record set in 2002, with a new record throw of 58.15m. Ese Brume emerged champion in the women’s Long Jump event, leaping to victory with a 6.38m jump.

In High Jump, Obiorah Arinze won the men’s event with a height of 2.05m, Theddus Okpara came second with a jump of 2.00m, same as Cyprian Oyedele in third.

Surge It