If You’ve Been Wondering If Wine Is Vegan, Here Is The Answer!

Wine May Consist Of More Than Just Grapes!

0
If You've Been Wondering If Wine Is Vegan, Here Is The Answer! - Surge Zirc
Wine ready to be served:Photo credit/theideal

Wine and Vegans: only this week we brought you the sad, sad news that avocados may not actually be vegan. Sob. That’s right—according to QI, migratory beekeeping is making the much-loved green veg harmful to animals. Yep.

YOU ASKED: IS WINE VEGAN?

Before you start drowning your sorrows in Malbec, we have some more vegan-related news.

ALSO READ: How To Prove You Can Do The Job, Even Without Direct Experience

And it’s not good for wine lovers…

According to an article on Metro.co.uk, wine may consist of more than just grapes.

That’s because, during the wine-making process, things like:

 

  • Blood and bone marrow
  • Casein (milk protein)
  • Chitin (fibre from crustacean shells)
  • Egg albumen
  • Fish oil Gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts)
  • Isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes

 

Are used to filter the alcoholic drink, and, shockingly, most wines won’t state these on their label because they’re not actually ingredients, just components of the winemaking process.

Guilty parties include the Blossom Hill Pinot Grigio and the Oyster Bay Sauvignon Blanc, but fear not, your favourite Torres Vina Sol, Bottega Brut Rose and Valserrano Rioja Blanco are all vegan-friendly.

It’s worth keeping an eye out for special vegan labelling—some wines do have this clearly marked on the bottle and, it goes without saying, visit a specialist vegan store and you’ll be able to get your hands on animal-product free vino.

ALSO READ: Harry Potter Cast Pay Tribute To Alan Rickman Who Died In 2016 At 69

These wines will be fully vegan because they use different filtration methods, like bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, and vegetable plaques, instead.

If you’re wondering whether your evening tipple is vegan, barnivore.com is a handy guide to 41,557 beer, wine and liquor products.

You’re welcome.

3 VEGAN WINES TO TRY

According to the Barnivore website, the following wines are indeed vegan-friendly:

1. Torres Vina Esmerelda

If You've Been Wondering If Wine Is Vegan, Here Is The Answer! - Surge Zirc
Vina Emmanuella:Photo credit/WH

2. Bottega Brut Rose

If You've Been Wondering If Wine Is Vegan, Here Is The Answer! - Surge Zirc
Bottega:Photo credit/WH

3. Valserrano Rioja Blanco

If You've Been Wondering If Wine Is Vegan, Here Is The Answer! - Surge Zirc
Muga:Photo credit/WH

Now we’ve helped you on your vegan wine journey, try these vegan protein bars or vegan ready made meals.

Surge It