CHAN QUALIFIER: Salisu Yusuf lists 30 players

Stephen Odey, Ezenwa lead 28 others.

Salisu Yusuf.
Super Eagles coach Salisu Yusuf.

Chief coach of the Super Eagles, Salisu Yusuf, has released a list of 30 players invited for next month’s 2018 Total African Nations Championship, CHAN, qualifier against neighbors, Togo or Benin Republic.

The list of invited players includes Super Eagles third choice goalkeeper, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Nigeria Premier League top scorer, Stephen Odey, and the talented attacking midfielder, Alhassan Ibrahim, of Akwa United.

The championship, tagged “CHAN” is a tournament instituted by continental football governing body, CAF, for players plying their trade in their various domestic leagues across Africa.

Chan, which has since been expanded to accommodate 16 teams in 2011, was first held in 2009 and hosted by the Ivory Coast, with Democratic Republic of Congo emerging winners.

Nigeria came third in the 2014 edition, and will await the winner of the preliminary encounter between Togo and Benin for a place in next year’s event.

The first leg of that match will take place in the second week of August, with the Eagles away, before hosting the second leg in Nigeria, days later, on Saturday, 19th of August.


The full list of invited players: 

Goalkeepers: Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Theophilus Afelokhai (Enyimba FC), Okiemute Odah (Lobi Stars), Dele Ajiboye (Plateau United)

Defenders: Jamiu Alimi (Kano Pillars); Orji Kalu (Rangers International); Stephen Eze (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ariwachukwu Emmanuel (Akwa United); Elisha Golbe (Plateau United); Chima Akas (Enyimba FC); Nasiru Sani (Katsina United), Osas Okoro (Rangers International), Chinedu Ajanah (ABS FC)

Midfielders: Hafiz Aremu (Akwa United); Emeka Atuloma (Rivers United); Raphael Ayagwa (Lobi Stars); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars), Samuel Mathias (El-Kanemi Warriors), Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United), Chiamaka Madu (Rangers International)

Forwards: Mfon Udoh (Enyimba FC); Prince Aggreh (FC IfeanyiUbah); Sikiru Olatubosun (MFM FC), Thomas Zenke (Nasarawa United); Austin Oladapo (Gombe United), Stephen Odey (MFM FC); Kingsley Eduwo (Lobi Stars),SundayAdetunji (Abia Warriors), Ifeanyi George (Rangers International)


Surge It